Buderim Ginger Dark Rich Fruit Cake

contact Details

Competition Coordinator: 

Ian Merritt

0459 567 250

[email protected]


Code of Practice and Conduct – Show Judges and Stewards
1 file(s)
Dark Rich Fruit Cake Competition Conditions of Entry
1 file(s)
Dark Rich Fruit Cake Entry Form
1 file(s)
Judge at a Local Show – Expressions of Interest
1 file(s)
Steward/Volunteer at a Local Show – Expressions of Interest
1 file(s)
Sub Chamber Finals Dates 2021
1 file(s)

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

About The Buderim Ginger Dark Rich Fruit Cake Competition

2021 State Finals 

The Dark Rich Fruit Cake Committee are in deep discussions regarding the 2021 State Finals rules and regulations to adapt to the Covid requirements. We will have this all confirmed and outlined by mid March 2021. 

This competition is a test of skills in the fine art of baking a Dark Rich Fruit Cake for those who wish to maintain a heritage culture which has been renowned for generations.
A set recipe is not provided – exhibitors are permitted to use their own tried and proven recipe in accordance with the Queensland Ag Show rules.

The competition begins at the local show. Winners of the Dark Rich Fruit Cake local show competition are eligible to enter the Sub Chamber competition. The winner of each Sub Chamber is then eligible to be judged at the State Finals. Only one entry from each Sub-Chamber is permitted and no cut cake will be accepted in any competition. For more information about local shows, please visit the Contact Shows page.

All exhibits for the State final must be a 500g mixture, made with approximately 2.25kg of fruit, and will be displayed at the State Finals hosting show. 

Thank you to our sponsor: Buderim Ginger – “The Worlds Finest Ginger”

Queensland Ag Shows are proud to announce Buderim Ginger as the Dark Rich Fruit Cake Competition Sponsor.

From a small farming community in the pre World War 1 days, to one of the world’s finest ginger producers, food processors and tourist destinations, Buderim Ginger is a long-standing and proudly successful Australian business.

It all started with some raw ginger pieces that found their way to Buderim, Australia many, many years ago. They thrived in the rich volcanic soil, the high rainfall and humidity. When the Second World War cut ginger supply from China, sales of the Buderim produced crop soared. As a result of this, five Buderim farmers met together in an old blacksmith’s shop and formed The Buderim Ginger Grower’s Co-operative Association Limited. Between them they had capital of 25 pounds, two wooden vats, 14 tons of green ginger and plenty of Australian spirit.

Do yourself a favour and pop over to the Buderim Ginger website for more information on their delicious Australian Ginger www.buderimginger.com.

Previous Winners
2019Sandra WyattNear North Coast
 2018Robert UllmannNear North Coast
2017 Patricia MurphySouth East Queensland
 2016 Loretta VollDarling Downs
2014Barbara HapgoodNorth Queensland
2013Barbara HapgoodNorth Queensland
2012Manny SorelyDarling Downs
2011Loretta HetheringtonBurnett
2010Isabell MatherNorth Queensland
2009Edna O’NeillSouth Burnett